“The Hobbit” fan edit

In my review of Peter Jackson’s The Hobbit trilogy, I commented that I’d love to see a fan edit that removes some of the most egregious deviations from the book. There’s a lot of good material in Jackson’s trilogy, but large parts of it simply undercut the story. Well, my wish has been granted! The Tolkien Editor has recut all three Jackson films into a single 4-hour film. It’s not perfect, but it’s a much more faithful and watchable adaptation of J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit. You can watch the whole movie here.

Note that the edit does not include footage from the extended editions. The Tolkien Editor suggests he might release a new version after The Battle of the Five Armies Extended Edition comes out in November.

About Dom

I study constitutional politics in Southeast Asia and I occasionally work as a consultant for rule of law projects. I enjoy science fiction and fantasy stories, both as an escape and as a way to better understand our world. One day, I hope to write a book about politics in genre literature.
This entry was posted in Books, Fantasy, Movies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

